Tom’s Farm Cherries Jubilee Macadamia Review

Burger
5 min readDec 13, 2020
An unopened package of Tom’s Farm Cherries Jubilee Macadamia.
Photo by Author

One of the most coveted and highly regarded flavors of the ice cream universe has now made its way to Tom’s Farm. These aren’t your typical Tom’s Farm nuts either, these are even more classy. Tom’s Farm Cherries Jubilee Macadamia are one of the newest flavors to hit the shelves in South Korea. I had to personally scour my local stores and online shops in order to even get my hands on one of these precious packages of white nuts. People are buying these out like the toilet paper that is disappearing from the shelves stateside! I couldn’t be happier to get a few of these packages, so I could share them with all of you! I’m going to come right out and let you know that I’m not a big fan of fruit flavored ice cream or even cherry jubilee for that matter. But boy, oh boy, these little nuts might have changed me for good…

I think I’m coming out…

…as a lover of cherry jubilee…

I might even start buying the ice cream at my local Baskin Robbin’s soon. My life feels fresh and anew. Revived by the sweet whimsical flavor of cherubs made from cherries.

Packaging:

Let’s get to my favorite part! Lots of cherries and happy little macadamia nuts on the cover art today. The colors palette of this design really matches the characteristics of the flavor and ingredients. The celebration is also on with these little dudes shaking cherries like bells and wearing cherry encrusted hats. I’m not quite sure what the macadamia nut with the ladle is trying to do, but he’s clearly up to no good. The others should keep an eye on him for sure…

If you’ve read my other reviews of Tom’s Farm Products, you will see that I have a completely different sized package than I normally get. I had to go with the 80 gram (2.82 ounces) package, because these buggers were hard to find! Because this is a relatively new and extremely popular flavor, that was the only size available.

A bit of a changeup with the nuts this time, these aren’t almonds coming from Tom’s Farm, but macadamia nuts. Just like the almonds, these macadamia nuts are the runts. They are tiny, but definitely get an enhancement in this department after the candy coating.

All of the macadamia nuts from a package of Tom’s Farm Cherries Jubilee Macadamia in a cup being weighed on a scale.
Photo by Author

Science:

So… I did a little science today with the review, which is something new. Let’s do a deep dive! Like I mentioned above, the package is a bit larger than I normally get and comes in at a whopping 80 grams of nuts. In this 80 gram package, I counted exactly 32 macadamia nuts. After breaking out the scale this time, I found out that the 32 macadamia nuts only come out to 78 grams!

So… WHERE ARE MY 2 GRAMS, TOM’S FARM!?

If you do the math, that comes out to 2.4375 grams on average per candy coated macadamia nut. I assume that the packaging machine is set to stay under 80 grams instead of allotting for a tiny bit of deviation…? That must have been a no-no. A greedy and very stingy no-no indeed! I really think the +2.4375 gram macadamia nut overture should have been acceptable… In the future, I hope Tom’s Farm offers more to their customers, not less… Oh yeah, and don’t even think about trying to tell me those 2 grams are for air cushion!

The macadamia nuts from a package of Tom’s Farm Cherries Jubilee Macadamia in a small bowl.
Photo by Author

Flavor:

Yum! Cherries! The flavor of Tom’s Farm Cherries Jubilee Macadamia is to die for. It’s that good. The combination of cherry jubilee and macadamia nuts is a match made in heaven. This package of nuts has a deliciously soft cherry jubilee flavor that is lighter and fluffier than the flavor of ice cream at Baskin Robbin’s. What’s even better about these candy coated macadamia nuts is that they actually taste like cherries and even have little tiny bits of cherries stuck in the coating. The candy coating is quite sweet and… waxy… I didn’t like the waxiness, but I have found this to be a common issue with the coating of certain flavors.

You’re also not going to taste the macadamia nuts at all. They are completely masked by the ultra sweet cherry jubilee candy coating. These few problems aside, these are still insanely tasty. They’re so delish that I had to have my wife take the bag away from me upon my own request!

Aroma:

Much like the taste, the aroma is pleasantly cherry. It’s a beautiful, harmonious smell of cherry that tickles your olfactory senses with joy. If you’ve smelled Baskin Robbin’s cherry jubilee ice cream before, you probably have a close estimate as to how these macadamia nuts smell. The smell is not quite as sharp on the nose as the ice cream, but more of a subtle cloud of cherry fragrance. The cloud of cherry aroma is all-encompassing, so don’t expect to smell any macadamia nuts through the nearly half centimeter thick candy coating.

Three macadamia nuts from a package of Tom’s Farm Cherries Jubilee Macadamia in a closeup photo.
Photo by Author

Verdict:

This was a very carefully considered flavor combination from Tom’s Farm. It is truly exceptional. And, I’m not even a huge fan of cherry jubilee ice cream. I would much rather have some chocolatey ice cream instead. These two ingredients were meant for each other. While the macadamia nuts don’t lend much in terms of flavor, they make up for it with their buttery and crispy texture. The cherry jubilee candy coating with bits of cherries mixed in puts the icing on the cake. The combined flavor is out of this world! It’s also an attractively colored snack with its deep reds from the bits of cherries and the pinkish candy coating. It’s as fun as it is tasty.

My only complaint is that I was stiffed 2 grams in this 80 gram package. When in doubt, give the customer more, not less! That’s just basic customer service. You better believe I will continue to weigh these packages and see if this becomes an ongoing trend with Tom’s Farm. Overall though, I honestly think Tom’s Farm Cherries Jubilee Macadamia is one of their best flavors yet. You should definitely give them a try! That is… if you can find some…

Do you love Baskin Robbin’s Cherry Jubilee Ice Cream? Or, what’s your favorite flavor at Baskin Robbin’s? Which flavors of ice cream do you think Tom’s Farm should put on nuts next? Let me know in the comments!

If you’re interested in hearing more about Korean snack nuts or instant ramen, check out my on-going series, Noodle Story: An Exploration of Korean Instant Noodles and my other series, I Think I’m Going Nuts: An Eyeful of South Korea’s Little Snack Nuts, here on Medium.

--

--

Burger

Foodie, Cyclist, Educator… Living the expat life in Busan, South Korea — Check out Burger n' Kimchi on YouTube for a glimpse of South Korean Food!